All The World's A Stage


Tuesday 25 June, 1.00pm (no interval)

St Giles-without-Cripplegate

Tickets £15

This perfect lunchtime concert offers immersive aural respite from the visual glare of the modern working day.  The exciting young Italian pianist Nicola Losito performs a ravishing programme including two well-known ballet adaptations: Prokofiev’s own dramatic piano version of his ballet suite Romeo and Juliet and piano master Mikhail Pletnev’s version of Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite.  With a nod to Dame Myra Hess and friends’ famous capacity lunchtime concerts at the National Gallery held throughout the Second World War, Nicola also plays Hess’s own adaptation of Bach’s profoundly moving Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring.  

Nicola Losito is supported by the Keyboard Charitable Trust

J. S. Bach/M. Hess 'Jesus bleibet meine Freunde' BWV 147
Brahms Ballade op.10 no.1: 'Nach der schottischen Ballade: Edward'
Liszt Après une lecture du Dante. Fantasia quasi Sonata, S. 161
Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet op.75
Tchaikovsky/Pletnev The Nutcracker Suite      


Nicola Losito, piano                  

© 2018 by Summer Music in City Churches

Website by Orchid Media

All photos by Helen Hooker

'Words & Music' calligraphy by Rosalind Wyatt

Artistic Directors: Jenny Robinson and Ian Maclay (Kestrel Music Promotions)

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
Follow us on social media